Someone sharing, or threatening to share, intimate pictures without your consent goes against our policies. There are steps you can take to remove the images from our technologies and prevent them from being shared or reshared.
Report when someone shares your intimate images without your consent or is threatening to do so. Our teams review reports 24/7 in more than 70 languages and will remove intimate images or videos shared without consent. We will also remove any content that threatens to share intimate images without permission. In most cases, we disable the account that shared, or threatened to share, such content on our technologies.
To stop further attempts at sharing a removed image, we use preventative photo-matching technologies. If someone tries to share the image after it has been reported to us and removed, we will alert them that it violates our policies. We also stop the resharing attempt and may disable the account.
If you have an intimate image or video you are concerned will be shared or reshared, you can take steps to prevent further circulation through StopNCII.org.
The tool features hash-generating technology that assigns a unique hash value (a numerical code) to an image, creating a secure digital fingerprint. Tech companies participating in StopNCII.org receive the hash and can use that hash to detect if someone has shared or is trying to share those images on their platforms.
Responding to and recovering from this kind of abuse looks different for everyone. Here are additional steps to protect yourself if someone has shared, or threatened to share, your intimate images.
Sextortion is the threat to reveal intimate images to get you to do something you don't want to do. Stop sextortion resources help those seeking support and information.
In 2018, we partnered with international, nonprofit safety organizations to pilot a voluntary and confidential program to help prevent NCII abuse — which is now integrated into StopNCII.org. The NCII pilot is no longer active.