Protecting your information begins with understanding how you can use privacy and security settings to customize your sharing. A good place to start is Facebook Privacy Checkup, which guides you through some of your privacy and security settings to make sure that you’re sharing with the people you want to see your content.
Here are additional resources to manage your privacy settings across Meta technologies.
Whenever you update your status, share photos or post content on Facebook, you can select who sees what you share by using the audience selector tool. You may share your content with everyone, just your friends or even with a specific audience. Any time you post content on another person's profile, that person controls who can view the post. Additionally, anyone who gets tagged in your posts may see them, along with their friends.
On Instagram, you can allow anybody to follow you, or require your approval of new followers. People following each other can tag each other and see each other’s posts.
The tag and timeline review options help you control who sees what you post, and which posts appear on your profile.
Tag review lets you approve or dismiss tags people add to your posts. When you turn on tag review, if someone tags something you posted, the tag won't appear until you've approved it.
Timeline review allows you to choose whether posts you're tagged in appear on your profile. If you want to review all posts (including friends' posts) before they appear on your profile, you need to turn on timeline review. If someone you're not friends with tags you in a post, you'll be automatically prompted to review it to appear on your profile, even if you don't have timeline review turned on.
Be aware of how your profile appears to visitors to your page. Learn what your profile looks like to the public or to a specific person.